Don’t Let The Bastards Grind You Down


Recently someone mentioned I should change the way I write my blog so I would appeal to a wider audience, attract advertisers, or get Freshly Pressed by WordPress.

I really did not know how to respond.

Personally, I feel that if you spent 10 minutes reading my blog you would know these points aren’t detrimental to my existence. I’m a Slacker, Jim, not a damn…something or other ambitious!

None of these things motivate me to blog.

The barrage continued.

“What’s the purpose of writing at all if no one is going to read what you wrote? Why bother?”

“Don’t you feel bad that you only have a few regular readers? Aren’t all your followers just friends and family??”

“Why don’t you just stick with your DIY posts since they are so popular?”

“What do you expect to get out of it?”

After ten minutes of this, I felt beaten down. The only non-violent-flesh-ripping response my aching lobe came up with was “If you have to ask, you wouldn’t understand.”

I was promptly told that was a lame response.

After some soul searching, I still stand by my original answer but can see how some would misinterpret it as a cop-out, so I’ve decided to elaborate. Not for the Asshat who verbally assaulted me via instant message (coward), but for the same reason I do most of the things in my life…because I feel like it.

The purpose of writing if no one is reading is that I am a writer. I have been a writer since I was 11 years old. I’m not a novelist, not a journalist, not a poet. I’m a writer. People don’t pay me to write and I’m cool with that. Societal rewards do not a writer make (just read Fifty Shades of Grey if you need proof).

A writer writes whether the world reads or not. They do it because they are compelled by something inside them. If that something isn’t addressed, internal chaos ensues. So we write. Period.

Do I feel bad that I only have a few followers? Absolutely not. I’ve always believed in quality over quantity. My followers ROCK and I don’t feel the need to water down my reading gene pool to feel good about myself.

Almost every follower I have is organic and that means that something I wrote SPOKE to them. Win! My ego is perfectly satisfied, thank you very much.

My stats tell me that most often my blog is found through internet searches. That the majority of searchers stay on my page looking at multiple posts, in addition to what they came for. In today’s short attention spanned world, I find that impressive! To me, that is the media equivalent of going to a party for the free booze but staying into the wee hours because the conversation is phenomenal. I’m flattered!

Do I feel bad that my followers are all friends and family? If this were true, the answer would be no. In fact, of the less than 100 followers I have, only three are family and three are friends.

Now that I think about it, I’m actually bothered that my friends and family are NOT following this blog! I have 4 siblings and only ONE is following me! Well listen up FAMILY, my Frazzled Sister? The one who subscribed? That sweetheart is going to be treated pretty damn well come Christmas Eve this year! The rest of you? I hope you enjoy Slipper Socks and sensible briefs πŸ˜‰

Ahem.

Why don’t I stick to DIY posts? Why don’t you stick your head…um, no.

I don’t stick to DIY posts because I don’t DIY for a living. I have a full -time job, I’m also a full-time mother of 3 children, I have family and I have friends. I don’t blog for money, I’m not trying to blog for money and I DIY when I want to, not because I need a nifty blog topic. Sometimes I’m so damn proud of my DIY efforts I feel the need to share because I did them in spite of all the other things I do (see my Pumpkin masterpiece for my most recent pride and joy).

To post only my DIY efforts would share a very small slice of who I am, and I care enough about my Frazzled Readers to want them to know the many facets that make me, well, me πŸ˜‰

What do I expect to get out of it?

This.

Right here. My words. On the screen in front of me. The readers are all bonus. If someone is reading this and it reaches out to them, that’s beyond awesome and I’m grateful.

But that’s icing on the cake. I write because I want to. I write because it’s what I felt like doing at the moment. I write because there is something I want to say. I write because it makes me happy to do it.

And really? That’s what it’s all about.

As always, thanks for reading ❀

12 responses to “Don’t Let The Bastards Grind You Down

  • Gigi

    I still think of us as “almost” sisters πŸ™‚ Actually I feel like that about your whole family, even Steven but now I love him as a brother πŸ™‚ With that said I like to red this and I know a friend who I sent over wanted to see more so that is a good thing, yes?

    Like

    • frazzledslacker

      Absolutely Gigi! You were my very first follower and I’m so happy about that! And thank you for sending me a new reader, I truly appreciate that!

      Like

  • Susan-OneSpringStreet.Net

    LOL! Loved this one! Keep writing!

    Like

  • Bob Bonsall

    Three things:

    First – This. All of this. Yes, yes, yes.

    Second – Ironically, “Shades of Grey” started out as internet fanfic, so technically it began as someone who was writing because she just loved to write, not for societal rewards. Awk-ward….

    And third… um… Do I not count as family, do I not count as a follower, or am I getting slipper socks and sensible briefs this year? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • frazzledslacker

      First, thank you! You inspire me every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Your quality posts remind me to care a little bit more about what I put out there and spur me on to at least attempt to think critically. Double thank you’s for you!

      Second, unfortunately I was an early Twihard and was familiar with that fan fiction, which I applaud, and I could even excuse the first book, because honestly if I had that shot at fame I’m sure I would take it too. But the 2 sequels? And now a movie? Hasn’t anyone seen past the racy sub plot and pointed out the myriad grammatical errors? I had trouble reading without using a red pen!

      Third, you were my first family follower, and will definitely NOT be getting sensible briefs or slipper socks for Christmas. Unless, you know, you’re into that kind of thing πŸ˜‰

      Like

  • justalittlestuck

    Reading this made a follower out of me. I feel like you really captured my perspective on writing that most people don’t understand. I write because I write. I have a lot of respect for you and what you said. I look forward to reading more.

    Like

    • frazzledslacker

      Thank you so much! I love it when people “get it” and its comforting to know there are others out there that feel the same.
      Thanks for following, the gene pool remains pure!

      Like

  • But Some Things You Just Don’t Question | The Frazzled Slacker

    […] a few new readers. Welcome new Frazzled Followers! I am glad to have you. I figure if you read my Bastards post and hung around to hear more of what I have to say, you’re pretty cool and we can […]

    Like

  • From Another Galaxy My Heart’s At Zero Gravity | The Frazzled Slacker

    […] been quite honest about the reasons I write and made it painfully clear in my Bastards post that it’s just my thing. I’m happier when I’m writing and I’m all out […]

    Like

  • Christian Marc

    Hahahaa…what a great response to that Asshat. I wonder if he/she ever read this post… Kudos to you for not giving a shit, and man how I hate that I just used the word “kudos.” one question…what the fuck is “freshly pressed” anyhow?

    Liked by 1 person

    • frazzledslacker

      Oh, they did…that’s kinda my thing, instead of engaging anyone in my life in person anymore, I funnel it all through my blog and “eviscerate them in fiction” 😊 There was backlash, but it was so very worth it!

      Freshly Pressed is a WordPress thing, they go through and pick up posts and publish them on blast (in your Reader you will see “Freshly Pressed”) and your blog ends up getting crazy amounts of traffic and followers. It’s a bit insane, the sudden fame (or so I’ve been told…I’m too much of a slacker to aspire to that level) but I will say that in general, the WordPress people do a good job of picking great posts that are interesting.

      Like

What's Your Awesome Opinion?

venomstories

BDSM, Dark Fantasy and Horror Stories by Venom

The Secret Whore

Exploring my secret sexual fantasies and telling the tale ...

The Siren Rules

A journey from doormat to Goddess

fondlingfaith

Judgment free fornication

Yours Promiscuously,

Confessions of a Fuck-Girl

