Whether You Sparkle or Bling, Don’t Matter it’s the Same Thing


I know you have been waiting for this. Don’t lie, you have caught yourself wondering about it. “What’s she making?” you might have asked yourself late at night before you fell asleep or early in the morning while shampooing your hair.

Or not.

That’s ok. Either way, here is my Super Badass Pumpkin Thing!!!

Yeah, there has been some controversy over what to call this. I’ve always referred to these as a Pumpkin Topiary, but someone recently pointed out that a topiary by nature is a “thing” (plant, pumpkin, what-have-you) raised up on its own (oh yeah, way to poop a party, Pal!) and this not-so-little baby is definitely not that. My son called it a totem pole, which might be closer to the truth, but honestly I’m sticking with topiary. So with no further ado, allow me to introduce:

FRAZZLED SLACKER’S SUPER BADASS PUMPKIN TOPIARY!!!!
(Cue the dramatic music. No, really, this thing deserves it!)
image

Ok, ok, enough with the ego trip, I’ll calm down now. I promised a tutorial, and I’m going to try to give one. But here’s the thing, I don’t really have one. I kind of had an idea in my head and just ran with it.

I knew I wanted to make a topiary, but I just wasn’t crazy about making a plain one. I don’t really have many Halloween specific decorations (I’m really into Fall, Ya’ll!) so I wanted something that couldn’t be mistaken for just more Autumnal decor. I wanted something spooky without actually being scary. That is how I came up with making it black, I liked the creepy factor.

My sweet 5year old daughter, Bean, had just recently pointed out that I don’t ever decorate with sparkles, and she said it in a way that made me feel like I wipe mud across anything pretty, because in general im not about the sparkle and ive certainly never been about the BLING!

So I took that as a challenge and decided to do my topiary up with a little shimmer. For my daughter. The five year old. In the end, once i started adding the bling (cant stop saying that word! wish i could!) i couldnt stop. not because i was addicted to it, but any part that didnt have it looked really bland in comparison.

Now, normally I’m all about the frugal craft, and while this is much less expensive than buying one, this baby was not cheap. I definitely could have cut costs by ordering a lot of the bling online, but I’m a little too impatient for that. I headed to Michael’s and bought up many convenience craft items that ran me just about $70. Granted, if I had waited a few weeks I could have gotten the majority of the stuff on sale, but I knew I wouldn’t have the time to (and possibly the motivation) to build it if I waited, so I had to strike while the iron was hot.

SUPPLY LIST

3 Pumpkins, ranging in size from 8″ to 21″
1 wooden dowel, 1/2″ diameter
3 bunches of black daisies with silver centers
1 roll black w/silver dots ribbon
1 chipboard initial
1 can Valspar Silver Metallic Shimmer spray paint
2 cans Valspar Black Satin spray paint
12 packages pre-glued rhinestones in 8 shapes
1 roll of black deco mesh
1 black plastic planter/urn
Hot glue gun and sticks of glue

I wasn’t really sure what I was doing, but I knew I wanted our family monogram, so I started by spray painting the “K” black and sticking some rhinestones on.

From there I sprayed the pumpkins because I liked the idea of black pumpkins, and started sticking rhinestone patterns on all but the largest pumpkin.
image

image

I made a template design by folding a piece of paper, drawing a design,
image

and cutting it out (make sure there is enough room for your letter to fit!)
image

Then I took the paper, layer it on the pumpkin and used the silver glitter spray paint to make a solid design in the center of the largest pumpkin. The paint went everywhere, but I actually loved the glitter effect it gave the black so I lightly sprayed the entire thing with silver.

I glued my letter on
image

And added some embellishment

image

At that point I knew I had to get these pumpkins stacked, so I drilled through all three pumpkins and placed them on the wooden dowel, using hot glue to hold them centered and to prevent wobble. I filled an urn with Styrofoam and placed the dowel down through it and proceeded to glue the heck out of it. (Sorry for the lack of photos on this part, I was flying solo. Just imagine a ridiculous Styrofoam mess and uneven holes and its just like you were there!)

image

I put flowers around the pumpkins where they touched each other to cover up any gaps, then added a small ribbon in between each flower.

While I loved the outcome, it was just too much black, and I was dedicated to the 2 color only rule I had set out on, so I decided at that point to add more bling!

Note: you can tell in my picture that the urn was old and dirty, my original plan was to use things I had already, so I assumed a black urn I had kicking around would be fine. I underestimated just how ratty it would look with all that newly painted black and shiny stuff around it. This was AFTER I glued it all together, so I had to cover the entire thing with a garbage bag and spray the urn ever so carefully. I recommend doing this step FIRST 😉 (again, no picture, but at this point my frugal self was fearing I just wasted all my time and materials on something blah. Imagine me hunched in my driveway with curious neighbors peering over my shoulder as I try to wrap garbage bags around this 4 foot tall beast while trying to spray paint.)

Once my urn was up to snuff, I added some Deco Mesh between the bottom pumpkin and the urn (to fill gaps) and AGAIN decided it looked too plain on the bottom so I started adding even MORE rhinestones.
image

At this point I must have blacked out in a haze of glue vapors and glitter dust, because all I know is I woke up with rhinestones stuck on odd spots of my body and the general feeling that I was done 😉

image

image

image

So there you have it, Frazzled Slacker’s guide to making a Super Badass Pumpkin Topiary!

Now, if you recall, this project was also the source of my first give-away. I want to thank each and every one of you who participated, your guesses at what I was making inspired me to try my hand at some of them, so stay tuned 😉

With out any further ado, the winner of Frazzled Slacker’s Guess What I’m Making contest is Susan at OneSpringStreetDesigns! (For fairness purposes I’m letting it be known that I did this project entirely under cover in my garage and kitchen…I wouldn’t even tell Frazzled Husband what I was making!)

As promised, I will be sending a Halloween themed decoration and will post pictures once it is received.

As always, thanks for reading guys!

6 responses to “Whether You Sparkle or Bling, Don’t Matter it’s the Same Thing

What's Your Awesome Opinion?

venomstories

BDSM, Dark Fantasy and Horror Stories by Venom

The Secret Whore

Exploring my secret sexual fantasies and telling the tale ...

The Siren Rules

A journey from doormat to Goddess

fondlingfaith

Judgment free fornication

Yours Promiscuously,

Confessions of a Fuck-Girl

