Chalkdust Torture (Paint-less Chalkboard Tutorial)


how to

Easy Cabinet Chalkboard DIY for less than $10 in less than 30 minutes!

Today I’ve got a little redo that takes less than a half hour and costs under $10!

Earlier this year I made a dry erase calendar that is great, but not really large enough for our grocery list or emphasizing really important things. I needed something I wouldn’t miss while running through the kitchen.

Painting a cabinet door seemed like a great idea, except I absolutely CANNOT stand chalkboard. It’s a tactile issue I have, don’t want to touch them, don’t want to accidentally rub against them, and honestly, I’m not crazy about chalk either.

I figured Dry Erase was my way to go so off to the newly opened Hobby Lobby I went. I was weighing options on painting my oak cabinets with magical erasable paint when I found rolls of sticky chalkboard vinyl. chalkboardThey cost $7.99 each (I used one roll for two cabinets with extra left over) and I just happened upon this when it was 50% OFF.

The wet-chalk was a little harder to find, but Hobby Lobby did have two colors of it (white and red) for $3 each which was also on sale for 50% off.

weterase

This is so simple, you don’t really need instructions, but start by unrolling the sheet of vinyl and placing it over your cabinet with extra all around the area you want covered.  

cover cabinet

Using a sharp razor knife (I do not suggest using a plain razor blade like I did. The only reason I used the blade was because they were in the cabinet I was covering and the knife was in a toolbox. Somewhere else. And I had 15 minutes before the kids got restless and came to see what I was up to. So, you know, be safe!

 trim with rzr

Peel away the extra sections you cut off.

 peel2 peel4

Season the chalkboard (I don’t know if this is the proper terminology, but you are supposed to scribble all over the vinyl and then erase it before you start writing. As you can see in some of my pics, I didn’t erase as well as I should have, but I was really pressed for time!)

season3  clean

And that’s it…a cabinet chalkboard in under 30 minutes for less than $10…how cool is that???

chalkboard2  how to

What's Your Awesome Opinion?

venomstories

BDSM, Dark Fantasy and Horror Stories by Venom

The Secret Whore

Exploring my secret sexual fantasies and telling the tale ...

The Siren Rules

A journey from doormat to Goddess

Everyone is Drunk

...and other observations

fondlingfaith

Judgment free fornication

Yours Promiscuously,

Confessions of a Fuck-Girl

